Is It Difficult to Get Operator License Indiana?

What Documents do You need to get a License in Indiana? How to Get an Operator’s License in Indiana? What is the Age Limit to get a Driver’s license? How to get a Probationary License? 

It was in 1903 when Massachusetts and Missouri issued the order mentioning that a person operating (driving) a car needs to have a driving license. These states became the first to issue the mandatory issuance of driving licenses and before that the identification card was merely considered as the authority to drive a car. By the way, do you know how to get an operator license Indiana? What are the facts related to Indiana operator license vs driver’s license? What are the Indiana driver’s license requirements? How much should be the Indiana drivers license age? Let’s begin and find out.

1. What Documents are the Indiana Driver’s License Requirements?

According to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) facility in Indiana, you must have all the following mentioned documents ready if you are applying for a driving license. 

  • Identity proof: It includes a United States birth certificate and an active United States passport. If you are not US-based then you need a consular birth report stating your place of birth and a foreign passport.
  • Legal Status Proof: It includes the same documents as mentioned in the identity proof section.
  • Social Security Number (SSN) proof: It can be your pay slip that has your name and social security number, your social security card, a non-SSA-1099 form, a W-2 form, and any other documents provided to you by the Social Security Administration.
  • Residency Proof of Indiana: It is proof that you are residing in the state. For this, you will need documents like a printed pay slip, a computer-generated bill under your name and address, a bank statement, Medicare or Medicaid benefits statement.

2. Is It Difficult to Get Operator License Indiana?

Photo by Bas Peperzak on Unsplash

Yes, an operator’s license is a bit different from a normal driving license because it is issued to heavy vehicle drivers. Here, an operator’s license may also concern someone operating a personal car. But, in both cases, the basic requirements are the same.

  • Prior to getting the operator license Indiana, you need to hold a learner’s permit for 180 days before you apply for the driver’s license. The age must be 15 years or more.
  • If the age is 16 years and 90 days to 21 years and holds the learner permit, must apply for the probationary license.
  • Apply for a regular operator license after the age of 21 years and keep all the necessary documents ready. You will get it after following the 3 main stages of the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program, namely Learner’s permit, Probationary Driver’s License, and Unrestricted Indiana Driver’s License

3. What is Indiana Drivers License Age?

There are 2 conditions in Indiana regarding the age of a person to get a driver’s license. 

  • If the person has successfully completed the approved driver’s education then to get the license his age must be 16 years and 90 days.
  • The person who has not successfully completed the approved driver’s education will get the license if his age is at least 16 years and 270 days.

4. How to Get a Learner’s Permit in Indiana?

According to the laws in Indiana, it is mentioned that everyone must hold a learner’s permit for 180 days, as soon as they are 15 years old. It is the same for the person applying for an operator license Indiana. This will help you in sharpening your driving skills under an instructor or a trained adult. Here are the requirements that you need to fulfill to get your permit in Indiana. 

A. Pass the Indiana Knowledge Exam

The authorities want to know whether you are aware of the traffic laws and safe driving practices. Thus, you need to pass a two-part multiple-choice written exam. It is necessary for you to answer at least 80% of the answers correctly, that is 40 correct answers. Check out What is 78 Percent Grade?

B. Pass a Vision Test

If you do not wear glasses then your vision must be between 20/20 and 20/40 in each eye. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, your vision in each eye must be 20/50. Depending on your vision, there can be some driving restrictions. If you have persisting vision problems, you need to get a doctor’s certificate stating that your vision improved.

C. Proof of Education

In case, your age is below 16 years, and you have applied for a learner’s permit you need to submit proof of education. It is proof that you have completed a course on the education of basic driving. 

5. What is a Probationary Driver License in Indiana?

Further, in the process of getting your operator license Indiana, go ahead and get a probationary license. Once the period of 180 days of holding the learner’s permit is over, you can apply for a probationary driver’s license. This license is valid until you turn 21 years and after that, within 30 days the probationary license will expire. The probationary license period is the time to complete the driver’s education program. The choice is yours whether you need to do the course or not. If you are not doing the course, you will have to wait additional 180 days to apply for the license. 

6. How to Apply for a Probationary License?

You can follow these steps:

  • Visit the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) office.
  • Submit a signed supervised driving log which should be of a minimum of 50 hours.
  • Submit your application along with documents of identity, address, SSN, and legal status.
  • Pass driving skill test. You can schedule your test online.
  • Pay the license application fee.
  • Surrender the permit, and give your picture for the license.

7. Indiana Operator License Vs Driver’s License? What are the Differences between them?

The operator’s license and driver’s license in Indiana are different in the sense of the vehicle that a person drives.

  • After getting a driver’s license you can drive your personal car whereas, an operator’s license will give you the freedom to drive commercial vehicles.
  • Once you have a driver’s license, you are allowed to drive a vehicle with less than 6 passengers whereas, a person holding an operator license Indiana can drive vehicles with 16 or more passengers.
  • People holding a driver’s license are not allowed to transport dangerous items on the road whereas, a person with an operator’s license is hired to transport hazardous material from one place to another.
  • Vehicle weight should be average under the driver’s license whereas, in the operator driver’s license the gross weight of the vehicle should not exceed 26,000 pounds.

8. Can Out of State Drivers Get a Driver’s License in Indiana?

If you are an out-of-state driver, you must at once apply for a driver’s license as soon as you move to the state. Your license must be ready within 60 days of moving into the state. If you are 18 years or more and have a current out-of-state license, you need to visit the BMV office with the following documents:

  • A verification letter,
  • Out-of-state driver license,
  • Copy of your driving record,
  • Identity, residence, and legal status proving documents,
  • Pass the vision certificate or give the vision test and pass it on the spot.

9. How much do You have to Pay and Wait for Your Driver’s License?

In Indiana, you will get your complete driver’s license within 14 days. The price you need to pay for the license depends on your age.

  • People below 75 years will pay $17.50.
  • Drivers aged between 75 and 84 will pay $11.
  • Above 84 years will be charged only $7.

10. Can an Undocumented Immigrant Get Driver’s License?

No, whether it is an operator license Indiana or a regular license, a new Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) or Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) will not be provided to any person who is not a legal citizen. It is against the law of the state. (See Consumer Protection Laws and Regulations USA)

11. Can You Renew Your License Online?

Photo by Inkredo Designer on Unsplash

Yes, you can visit the BMV website and apply for a renewal. You need to follow the instructions mentioned on the website. Keep your current driver license and documents ready while applying for the renewal.

So, today you learned about the requirements and process to get your operator license Indiana. Did you understand the difference between an Indiana operator license vs driver’s license? Is Indiana driver’s license requirements different from your region? (See What Makes and Enforces Public Policy in Real?)

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts