JAN23 Is Corona Beer Gluten Free 3

Is Corona Beer Gluten Free?

Jack Williams
7 Min Read

In this contemporary era, gluten-free diets are gaining popularity as people are becoming more health conscious and they are gaining more knowledge on the health benefits of gluten-free diets. Gluten is basically a protein that is found in barley, wheat, rye, and gluten cans to lead issues in people who have celiac disease or are gluten intolerant. In this article we will discuss, is Corona beer gluten free, who owns Corona beer, and more, so keep reading this article. The inspiration behind this magnificent brand logo is the crown of the Cathedral of Our Lady of Guadalupe which is in the city of Puerto Vallarta.

1. Is Corona Beer Gluten Free?

JAN23 Is Corona Beer Gluten Free

No. This answer might be shocking as this makes it unsafe for people with Celiac Disease. The alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) is the authority for traditional beverages and beers manufactured with malted barley and hops. So, traditional beer is not gluten-free according to Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau if the beer is manufactured with a gluten-containing grain, such as barley. Corona beer is manufactured using barley thus making it non-gluten-free under U.S. law. (Also Read Where is Corona Beer Made?)

2. Who Owns Corona Beer?

In the year 2013, Anheuser-Busch InBev (AB InBev) acquired Grupo Modelo which was Corona’s parent company. As a part of the $20.1 billion deal, the Grupo Modelo, which was one of the world’s top-selling imported beers, would be seamlessly integrated into Anheuser-Busch InBev (AB InBev). The company’s US-based business was sold to Constellation, as US antitrust regulators needed it. In other markets, Anheuser-Busch InBev kept the rights to the products, and the rights to manufacture Corona and other Modelo brands in the USA were given to Constellation as per the deal. Now, you might be clear on who owns Corona beer. 

3. What is Corona Beer Alcohol Percentage?

The answer to Corona beer alcohol percentage ranges between 4 to 4.8%. Different Corona beer types like Corona Extra, Corona Light, Corona Familiar, and Corona Premier have different percentages of alcohol for instance, Corona Light has 4% alcohol, Corona Extra has 4.6% alcohol, etc. Besides this, now you might be also clear on whether is Corona beer gluten free. (See Is Crown Royal Gluten Free?)

4. Can Beer be Tested Accurately for Gluten?

No, interestingly, no test can give you accurate results to determine if a beer is gluten-free or not. Nonetheless, the method which is used these days to test the beer is known as enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay or ELISA. The methods used for testing the gluten in the beer are not totally accurate. The enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay method recognizes the antigens that trigger an immune response. It makes use of the antibodies to figure out the antigens by shaping and binding to them.

The issue with this is that the antigens can be camouflaged from the enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay during the fermentation process for beer. So, if the testing is not done correctly then the gluten test of the beer done by Corona is not accurate.

5. What is Corona Beer?

JAN23 Is Corona Beer Gluten Free 1

Now that we know the Corona beer alcohol percentage, let us take a look at what it really is. In the year 1925 Corona beer was established when Grupo Modelo began its brewing activity. It is a Mexican beer company that manufactures various kinds of beer such as Corona Extra, Corona Light, Corona Familiar, and Corona Premier, and a variety of hard seltzers.

Corona also manufactures its Corona Refresca line, which is a malt that has a number of fruity flavors, for instance, coconut lime, passionfruit lime, and more. Grupo Modelo started exporting beer to the USA in the year 1976 and Corona became one of the best-selling imported beers in the USA in the year 1988. (Also read Is Jack Daniels Gluten Free?)

6. What is the Difference Between Corona and Coronita?

Corona is termed Coronita in Spain as it is in small bottles than the ones that are available in other countries. A diminutive suffix -ita or -ito is added to the end of words to indicate a smaller version, in Spanish. Besides that, the other reason why is it called Coronita is because of the trademark dispute which prevented the usage of the name Corona in Spain till 2016, after which things sorted out.

7. What are the Gluten Free Beer Brands?

As you know the answer to whether is Corona beer gluten free or not, now let’s tell you that there are gluten-free beers made by many breweries, so you can try them out. The beers that are gluten-free are not brewed with gluten-containing grains like wheat or barley instead they are generally brewed with sorghum or brown rice. These brands of beer include:

  • Ground Breaker
  • Red Bridge
  • Bard’s
  • B.C. Brewery
  • Ghostfish Brewing
  • Buck Wild
  • Alt Brew

In spite of beer, you can also have non-beer alternatives such as hard ciders or Corona Hard Seltzer, as they are gluten-free. Some of the most popular examples are Corona Hard Seltzer Blackberry Lime, Corona Hard Seltzer Cherry, Corona Hard Seltzer Tropical Lime, and Corona Hard Seltzer Mango. Must see Is Skyy Vodka Gluten Free?

8. Is Corona Light and Corona Premier Same?

No, Corona Light and Corona Premier are not the same. The Corona Premier is much lighter and watered down, with fewer calories and carbohydrates and the Corona Light is the standard light beer. But both these Corona Light and Corona Premier beers are best for people who want to intake fewer calories and carbohydrates. Both of these have 4% alcohol and are light beers.

We hope after reading our article you were able to learn about whether is Corona beer gluten free and more. We keep coming up with interesting and insightful information so keep visiting our page frequently. 

Share this Article
Leave a comment